Auto insurance requirements vary state-to-state and can be tricky to figure out. Read on to learn what drivers need to know about Georgia’s minimum auto insurance requirements, at-fault versus no-fault accidents, and what happens when an uninsured driver hits you.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements in Georgia
In Georgia, motor vehicle owners registered in-state must carry liability insurance. Liability insurance is coverage that will financially protect you if you are legally responsible for injuries or property damage in a car accident and is required in most states. The minimum liability coverage mandated in Georgia is:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000 per incident
With liability insurance, your insurance company will cover the injured’s medical bills, property damage bills, or other costs incurred up to the coverage limit. Liability insurance does not cover any expenses associated with your (the policyholder’s) injuries or property damage.
At-Fault versus No-Fault Accidents
In states that deem accidents as at-fault, insurers of both parties in an accident determine which driver should be held responsible for the accident. Then that driver’s insurance company handles all of the accident’s associated bills and costs.
In states that deem accidents as no-fault, both parties' insurance typically covers their respective bills and expenses associated with the accident. In no-fault states, drivers may be allowed to sue the at-fault driver if certain conditions are met.
Whether your accident is handled as an at- or no-fault accident depends on the state’s laws. In Georgia, accidents are deemed at-fault.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Georgia
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM) protects drivers that are hit by a motorist who does not have auto insurance or who does not have enough coverage to pay for the injuries or damages that they caused.
While UIM is required in many states, in Georgia, motor vehicle owners are not required to purchase UIM so long as the policyholder rejects purchasing UIM in writing. Because Georgia is an at-fault state, even if you are not at fault in an accident, being hit by an uninsured driver will likely result in you shouldering the costs of medical bills, property damage bills, and other associated expenses on your own.
After a Car Accident
Unfortunately, car accidents are common, and the aftermath is often complex to navigate. If you or a loved one were injured in a car accident, the attorneys at Adams Law Firm can help you be successful in your recovery.